Burgk Castle

Burgk Castle Museum

Picturesquely situated on the banks of the Upper Saale River, Burgk Castle not only houses historic living quarters and showrooms along with valuable interiors, but also serves as one of the cultural centers of the Saale region with its collections, exhibitions - including contemporary art -, concerts and festivals.

  • Schloss Burgk
  • Schloss Burgk
  • Schloss Burgk
  • Schloss Burgk
  • Schloss Burgk
  • Schloss Burgk
  • Schloss Burgk

The impressive late-medieval fortifications enclose a building that harbors numerous treasures behind a seemingly plain facade. The harmony between architecture and landscape is fascinating. Starting with the striking fortifications of the late Middle Ages and ending with the late baroque complex of the Sophienpark, the history of art is illustrated by the example of a small reign rich in quarrels. Until 1945, the Princes of Reuß of the older line used it mainly as a hunting lodge and summer residence.

Since 1952, the architectural ensemble Burgk Castle has served as a museum. Valuable furniture, glassware, paintings, tapestries, trophies, weapons, and other objects are on display in the now carefully restored and richly furnished interiors such as the Knights' Hall, the Castle Chapel, the White Room, and the State Bedroom.
The impressive Knights' Hall on the top floor of the Castle does not need any disturbing supports and pillars, as the wooden ceiling was suspended and anchored in the roof truss – making it an architectural rarity in Germany. The resulting excellent acoustics make the room a popular concert hall.

The chapel with its early-baroque decoration contains the jewel of the Castle: the organ built by Gottfried Silbermann in 1742/43, which is one of the smallest by the master and one of the few whose baroque sound has been preserved.

Of exceptional visual value is the colossal fireplace (21.50 m) of the historic Castle kitchen.

The museum houses three special collections thematically devoted to the theme of books: The Exlibris collection (about 80,000 sheets) is one of the largest collections of its kind in Europe in public hands. The library is dedicated to the history of the Reuß family and the Reuß region, as well as art historical literature. The collection of artists' books and original graphic magazines is remarkable.
A selection of the collection holdings is regularly presented in temporary exhibitions.

The complex offers a fantastic backdrop for weddings in civil and church ceremonies, among other things. Concerts, exhibitions, festivals, medieval Castle spectacles, Christmas markets, weddings, and much more enliven the historic walls, making the visit an impressive experience.


Amenities and Facilities

Burgk Castle Museum with the following amenities and facilities:

Event location

Guided tours

Geöffnet

Kinderangebot

Museum store

Parking

Restaurant

Hours of operation & ticket prices:


April until October

Tuesday until Sunday
10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

November until March

Tuesday until Sunday
11 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Zusatz

Closed on December 24, 25 and 31, open on all other public holidays (including Mondays).

Adults: 6,00 €
Reduced: 5,00 €
Students up to 13th grade: 2,50 €
Admission is free for children under the age of 6.

Family ticket (Parents with 2 or more school-aged children): 15,00 €

Contact


Burgk Castle

Burgk Castle Museum
Burgk 17
07907 Schleiz

Phone: +49 / 36 63 / 40 01 19
Fax: +49 / 36 63 / 40 28 21

Email
Link to the homepage

Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden

Further information


Event location

Celebrate your event in romantic surroundings

Celebrate your wedding at Burgk Castle... Take advantage of the unique possibilities offered by the house and get married in the ambience of the Castle. Or are you looking for a special place for your event? We offer it! For festive events, receptions, conferences, colloquia, lectures, and private celebrations, the Castle kitchen, the mill vault, the Amtshaus (district office) hall, as well as selected representative rooms and outdoor spaces can be rented.

Contact:

Contact person: Museum Schloß Burgk
Phone: 036 63 / 40 01 19

Contact request by email

Schloss Burgk

Museum Schloss Burgk

Malerisch am Ufer der Oberen Saale gelegen, beherbergt Schloss Burgk nicht nur historische Wohn- und Schauräume nebst wertvollem Interieur, sondern ist mit seinen Sammlungen, Ausstellungen – auch zeitgenössischer Kunst –, Konzerten und Festen eines der kulturellen Zentren des Saalelandes.
  • Schloss Burgk
  • Schloss Burgk
  • Schloss Burgk
  • Schloss Burgk
  • Schloss Burgk
  • Schloss Burgk
  • Schloss Burgk

Beeindruckende spätmittelalterliche Wehranlagen umschließen ein Gebäude, das hinter einer nahezu schlichten Fassade zahlreiche Kostbarkeiten birgt. Die Harmonie zwischen Architektur und Landschaft ist faszinierend. Angefangen bei den eindrucksvollen Wehranlagen des späten Mittelalters bis hin zur spätbarocken Anlage des Sophienparkes erklärt sich die Geschichte der Kunst am Beispiel einer kleinen und an Zerwürfnissen reichen Herrschaftsgeschichte. Die Fürsten Reuß älterer Linie nutzten es bis 1945 vorwiegend als Jagd- und Sommersitz.

Das architektonische Ensemble Schloss Burgk dient seit 1952 als Museum. In den inzwischen sorgfältig restaurierten und reich ausgestatteten Innenräumen wie dem Rittersaal, der Schlosskapelle, dem Weißen Zimmer und dem Prunkschlafraum werden wertvolle Möbel, Gläser, Gemälde, Wandteppiche, Trophäen, Waffen und weitere Objekte gezeigt.
Der beeindruckende Rittersaal in der obersten Etage des Palas kommt ohne störende Stützen und Pfeiler aus, da die Holzdecke im Dachstuhl aufgehangen und verankert wurde – eine architektonische Seltenheit in Deutschland. Die daraus resultierende gute Akustik macht den Raum zum beliebten Konzertsaal.

Die Kapelle mit frühbarocker Ausschmückung birgt das Kleinod des Schlosses: die von Gottfried Silbermann 1742/43 gebaute Orgel, die zu den kleinsten des Meisters gehört und zu den wenigen, deren barockes Klangbild erhalten blieb.

Von außergewöhnlichem Schauwert ist der kolossale Kamin (21,50 m) der historischen Schlossküche.

Das Museum beherbergt drei Spezialsammlungen, die thematisch dem Buch verpflichtet sind: Die Exlibris-Sammlung (ca. 80.000 Blatt) ist eine der größten Sammlungen Europas ihrer Art in öffentlicher Hand. Die Bibliothek widmet sich der Geschichte der Reußen und des Reußenlandes sowie kunsthistorischer Literatur. Beachtlich ist die Sammlung von Künstlerbüchern und originalgrafischen Zeitschriften.
Eine Auswahl der Sammlungsbestände wird regelmäßig in Wechselausstellungen präsentiert.

Die Anlage bietet eine traumhafte Kulisse u.a. für standesamtliche und kirchliche Trauungen. Konzerte, Ausstellungen, Feste, Mittelalterliches Burg(k)-Spektakel, Weihnachtsmarkt, Hochzeiten und vieles mehr beleben das historische Gemäuer und lassen den Besuch zu einem beeindruckenden Erlebnis werden.


Ausstattung

Museum Schloss Burgk mit folgenden Ausstattungsmerkmalen:

Eventlocation

Führungen

Geöffnet

Kinderangebot

Parkplatz

Restaurant

Souvenirshop

Öffnungszeiten & Preise


Zusatz

Am 24., 25. und 31. Dezember geschlossen,
an allen übrigen Feiertagen
(dann auch montags) geöffnet.

November bis März

Dienstag bis Sonntag
11.00 – 16.00 Uhr

April bis Oktober

Dienstag bis Sonntag
10.00 – 18.00 Uhr

Kontakt


Schloss Burgk

Museum Schloss Burgk
Ortsstrasse 16
07907 Burgk

Telefon:  0 36 63 / 40 01 19
Fax:  0 36 63 / 40 28 21

E-Mail
Link zur Homepage

Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden

Eventlocation

Feiern Sie Ihren Event in romantischer Kulisse

Trauen Sie sich auf Schloß Burgk… Nutzen Sie die einzigartigen Möglichkeiten, die das Haus bietet, und heiraten Sie im Schlossambiente. Oder suchen Sie für Ihre Veranstaltung den besonderen Ort? Wir bieten ihn! Für Festveranstaltungen, Empfänge, Tagungen, Kolloquien, Vorträge und private Feierlichkeiten können Schlossküche, Mühlengewölbe, Amtshaussaal sowie ausgewählte Repräsentationsräume und Freiflächen gemietet werden.

Kontakt:
Telefon: 036 63 / 40 01 19

Kontaktanfrage per E-Mail