Sondershausen Castle Park

Sondershausen Castle is surrounded by a landscape park, covering an area of about 30 hectares. It was created in the 19th century from the former pleasure garden on the castle hill and a redesign in the floodplain of the Wipper River. An avenue connects the various park areas, which are situated at different heights.

  • Schlosspark Sondershausen

The historical starting point of the park complex was a kitchen garden located in front of the west wing of the castle, which was converted into a pleasure garden around 1700. Numerous buildings, such as the octagonal house originally erected as a carousel building, the mail track later replaced by an indoor riding arena, and the destroyed court theater, belonged to it.
The orangery was used, among other things, to cultivate pineapples as a specialty. Around 1800, interest shifted to the Lohplatz, located to the north of the Castle Hill, in the vicinity of which amusement facilities such as a shooting range were established. This area was included in the expansion of the Castle Park in the area of the floodplain of the Wipper River north of the Castle from 1836 onwards.

Between the Castle Hill and the river, an elongated landscape park was created under the court gardener Tobias Ekart and the garden artist Eduard Petzold. Paths and woody plantings were laid out, and two of the existing ponds were converted into park lakes. The Park was heavily damaged during World War II and is currently being restored based on Ekart's and Petzold's work.


Amenities and Facilities

Sondershausen Castle Park has the following amenities and facilities:

Bus

Event location

Guided tours

Geöffnet

Parking

Events

Contact


Sondershausen Castle Park

Schlossverwaltung
Schloss 1
99706 Sondershausen

Phone: +49 / 36 32 / 62 24 02

Email
Link to the homepage

Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden

Personalities

Schlosspark Sondershausen

Schloss Sondershausen ist umgeben von einem etwa 30 Hektar großen Landschaftspark. Er entstand im 19. Jahrhundert aus dem früheren Lustgarten auf dem Schlossberg und einer Neugestaltung in der Aue der Wipper. Eine Allee verbindet die unterschiedlich hoch gelegenen Parkbereiche.
  • Schlosspark Sondershausen

Historischer Ausgangspunkt der Parkanlage war ein vor dem Westflügel des Schlosses gelegener Küchengarten, der um 1700 zum Lustgarten umgestaltet wurde. Zahlreiche Gebäude, wie das ursprünglich als Karussellgebäude errichtete Achteckhaus, die später durch eine Reithalle ersetzte Mailbahn und das zerstörte Hoftheater, gehörten dazu.
In der Orangerie wurde unter anderem die Ananaszucht als Spezialität gepflegt. Um 1800 verlagerte sich das Interesse auf den nördlich des Schlossberges gelegenen Lohplatz, in dessen Umfeld sich Vergnügungseinrichtungen wie etwa ein Schießstand etablierten. Dieses Areal wurde ab 1836 in die Erweiterung des Schlossparks im Bereich der Talaue nördlich des Schlosses einbezogen.

Zwischen Schlossberg und Fluss entstand unter dem Hofgärtner Tobias Ekart und dem Gartenkünstler Eduard Petzold ein langgestreckter Landschaftspark. Wege und Gehölzpflanzungen wurden angelegt, zwei der vorhandenen Teiche wurden zu Parkseen umgestaltet. Der Park wurde im Zweiten Weltkrieg schwer beschädigt und wird derzeit in Anlehnung an das Werk Ekarts und Petzolds wieder instand gesetzt.


Ausstattung

mit folgenden Ausstattungsmerkmalen:

Geöffnet

Parkplatz

Kontakt


Schlosspark Sondershausen

Schlossverwaltung
Schloss Sondershausen
99706 Sondershausen

Telefon: 0 36 32 / 62 24 02

E-Mail
Link zur Homepage

Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden

Persönlichkeiten